BBL Championship

The BBL Championship is the BBL’s flagship competition and determines the top team in British basketball over a 36-game regular season campaign.

The twelve clubs meet one another on three occasions in the league competition – once at home, once away, and once home or away (alternating each season). Teams were awarded two points for a win in league games and the team with the most points at the end of the season is crowned BBL Champions.

In the case of a tie, the head-to-head record between the sides concerned was taken into account. In the case of a tie between multiple teams where this does not break the tie, it was then determined by the points difference in the games between the teams.

The defending champions are Leicester Riders who defeated Plymouth Raiders 99-69 on 14 April 2017 securing their title one week before the end of the season.

With the regular season completed, the top eight teams in the BBL Championship table will progress to the BBL Play-Offs.