BBL Championship & Playoffs

The BBL Championship is the BBL's flagship competition and determines the top team in British basketball over a 33-game regular season campaign.

The twelve clubs met one another on three occasions in the league competition – once at home, once away, and once home or away. Teams were awarded two points for a win in league games and that team with the most points at the end of the season is crowned BBL Champions. In the case of a tie, the head-to-head record between the sides concerned was taken into account.  In the case of a tie between multiple teams where this does not break the tie, it was then determined by the points difference in the games between the teams. The defending champions are the Leicester Riders, who won their first ever BBL Championship title last season, beating 5-time champions Esh Group Eagles Newcastle into second place.

With the regular season completed, the top eight teams in the BBL Championship table will progress to the season finale: the BBL Championship Playoffs. The draw for the playoffs is as follows: 1st vs. 8th, 2nd vs. 7th, 3rd vs. 6th, 4th vs. 5th.

The teams play each other home and away in the quarter-final round, which will take place on or around the weekend of 25th-27th April, with the winners determined by the aggregate scores over the two legs. The winners of these games then reach the Semi Finals with the highest remaining seed (highest league placing) facing the lowest seed in one semi final and the other two quarter final winners meeting in the other semi final. As with the Quarters, the semi final round is held over two legs (on or around the weekend of 2nd-4th May) with the winners once again determined by the aggregate scorers over the two legs.

The winners in the semi finals progress to the BBL Championship Playoff Final which is the grand showpiece of the basketball season, taking place on Sunday 11th May 2014.

Last season Leicester Riders won the Playoff final, with an MVP performance by Drew Sullivan leading them to victory over Esh Group Eagles Newcastle.

The BBL Championship and Playoffs feature the Molten GG7, the Official Basketball of the BBL, which is also used across a variety of European leagues and international competitions.

For information about previous seasons, click here