BBL Trophy

The BBL Trophy is one of the much-heralded peripheral competitions in British basketball, and has been running for as long as the BBL with a fascinating twenty-six year history. 

Last season's final saw a tense game played out before a gripped crowd at the Emirates Arena, as One Health Sharks Sheffield narrowly defeated Leicester Riders 71-69, with BJ Holmes named game MVP after sinking the pair of winning free throws.

The 12 BBL clubs, together with Essex Leopards, Reading Rockets, Leeds Carnegie and Bristol Academy Flyers will compete in a knockout competition. The first two rounds were one-off games before the semi-finals took place over two legs. The final took place on Sunday 30 March 2013 at the Emirates Arena in Glasgow.

The draw for the competition was:


First Round 

London Lions 73-82 Worcester Wolves

Plymouth University Raiders 90-81 Durham Wildcats

Cheshire Phoenix 86-78 Leicester Riders

Manchester Giants 91-74 Birmingham Knights

Leeds Carnegie 48-84 Glasgow Rocks

Bristol Academy Flyers 91-75 Surrey United

Essex Leopards 73-101 Esh Group Newcastle

Reading Rockets 73-85 One Health Sharks Sheffield



Esh Group Eagles Newcastle 73-86 Worcester Wolves

Plymouth University Raiders 60-74 One Health Sharks Sheffield

Manchester Giants 71-73 Glasgow Rocks

Cheshire Phoenix 85-56 Bristol Academy Flyers


Semi-Finals (2 legs)

Cheshire Phoenix 157-172 Glasgow Rocks (1st leg: 80-74 & 77-98)

One Health Sharks Sheffield 130-146 Worcester Wolves (60-62 & 70-84)



Worcester Wolves 83-76 Glasgow Rocks